Out of the Box

Getting creative with Christianity, crafting, cooking, copious usage of alliteration, and the rest of my life

After a long silence… June 22, 2010

Filed under: Adventures in Toronto — Grace @ 5:32 pm

Sorry about that. I should probably post more often… It’s not like I have too much else to do, although that should and probably will change. More about that later.

Well, so far nothing has been mentioned about me teaching ESL. I need to talk to Pastor Shawn and find out for sure. If I’m not going to be able to do that through the church, I’ve found a few other opportunities within Toronto that will make my summer look more productive on a college application if they work. That might appease my dad and convince him not to pressure me to come home. (For the record, I’m not leaving. No way. Case closed.)

Oh, I walked to The Purple Purl, accompanied by Anna. And it did, in fact, take an hour to get there. And another hour to walk back. I felt bad for making my roommate suffer, but on the plus side, we found a Dollarama close to the seminary on our way back, which made Anna happy. But next time I think I’ll take a streetcar.

I still haven’t started my summer service requirement for school. This is not good. Someone make me stop procrastinating!

I traveled alone by bus/subway for the first time… and survived. That can only be a good thing, especially the part about surviving.

I want to do something for the homeless people I’ve seen, but I don’t know what or how.

And I’m in charge of the youth’s lesson for next Sunday. Yikes. Any ideas?

Yep, life is interesting here in Toronto. I’m still not sure why God sent me here, but… maybe it’ll come with time. After all, I still have six weeks.

Coming soon (I hope): Sourdough stuff, more exploration, SOMETHING TO DO WITH ESL!

 

One Response to “After a long silence…”

  1. El'endia Starman Says:

    With regards to the homeless, my parents know more about this than I do, but one thing my dad has done rather often is to give them food. I was in the car once when they literally taped granola bars to apples and handed one of them to a homeless person on a sidewalk corner. Also, I’m pretty sure they like it when you make friends with them.

    With regards to ideas for the youth lesson…well. I considered Heaven, but you haven’t read Randy Alcorn’s book Heaven. I considered something about how large God is, larger than even Graham’s Number (whose smallest cousin is incomprehensibly large) and yet still remains so personal, but I’m pretty sure you don’t know what Graham’s Number is. ๐Ÿ˜›

    But…I DO have an idea you could use. In scripture, there are three crowns that you can receive: the crown of Glory (1 Peter 5:4), the crown of Righteousness (2 Timothy 4:8), and the crown of Life (Revelation 2:10). Think about it… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Regardless…good to hear about what’s going on up there. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hopefully, the ESL door isn’t closed, but if it is, remember that there’s almost always one open around the corner…


Leave a Reply

