Out of the Box

Getting creative with Christianity, crafting, cooking, copious usage of alliteration, and the rest of my life

More Fun with Sourdough June 22, 2010

Filed under: Culinary Stuff — Grace @ 8:51 pm

Wow… days of doing nothing, and now two posts in one day? Either I’m going crazy or I’m on the road to recovery from this lazy week of constant sleeping and not much else. The next thing you know I’ll be doing my summer service requirement… YIKES! (Actually, I hope that’s what happens!)

Anyway, if you read my first post about sourdough, you might remember that I was having some problems with the “sponge.” It ended up not working at all, so I had to throw it out. I then prepared some bigger jars, hoping they would hold enough starter to bypass the sponge stage altogether. I didn’t have time to test it out at home, though, so I took the original small jar and two big ones, stuffed them with various soft things, carefully packed them into my suitcase, and took them to Canada.

They got here safely, and I gave things another try. Luckily, the big jars do hold enough starter to skip the sponge step, so I was able to actually make dough… and turn it into bread. VICTORY! It turned out pretty well. Not great, but good. I don’t have any pictures, unfortunately.

Things I’ve discovered: It’s okay to use tap water (at least here). And flour and water measurements don’t have to be exact; just play with it until you get the right consistency (like pancake batter). As a matter of fact, less precise measurements gave me two jars of starter that didn’t form layers of liquid on top and seemed to be ready faster. It was a little thicker than what I would have gotten using equal amounts. Maybe thicker is better.

Also, I don’t think my starter likes all-purpose flour very much. I tried to feed it with that and it didn’t work well. (I ended up throwing out that jar’s contents.) Whole wheat works better for me.

Top view of a jar of sourdough starter

This is a jar of my starter.

See how it’s all bubbly on top? That means it’s ready. I could start another batch of dough right now if I wanted to. And it’s tempting.

Someday I’ll have to get a GIGANTIC glass jar and make huge batches of bread if necessary. But my waistline wouldn’t thank me. I’ve made it angry enough already. πŸ™‚

I baked my second loaf of sourdough bread today! I managed to get it into a better shape this time… but undercooked it. Darn. I’ll put it back into the oven when I have the energy to do something other than sit around with my laptop.

Additional tips: Wrapping it in a damp towel made the crust softer than last time, which was nice.

A loaf of sourdough bread

Isn't it pretty?

Yay, the blog’s first pictures! I wonder what it says about me that they’re of food… haha. Many thanks to the ladies of my church for this camera!

 

One Response to “More Fun with Sourdough”

  1. El'endia Starman Says:

    MMM…that looks good. Gonna make some when you’re back at Smath? πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

