Out of the Box

Getting creative with Christianity, crafting, cooking, copious usage of alliteration, and the rest of my life

Differences of Opinion June 26, 2010

Filed under: Theological Thoughts — Grace @ 6:16 pm

It can be hard being theologically liberal (or should I say progressive? Or should I say rational?). I won’t go into detail now, because that would only tick me off. Suffice it to say that I keep getting into arguments debates over various issues. I try to keep the right attitude through it and not let things get personal, but I often don’t succeed.

But come on, everyone – “because God said so” is not a reason. It’s not proof of anything. For goodness’ sakes, there were plenty of people in Jesus’ day who were unwilling to rethink their concept of what the Messiah was supposed to do and be. “The Bible says he’ll bring peace to the earth, that he’ll be a conquering king,” they argued. Sure, but not yet. They missed out because they couldn’t comprehend that there might be another possible interpretation (in their case, the interpretation would be “He will, but not until later.”).

For the record, I will not stop thinking; I will not stop questioning; I will not blindly accept something that doesn’t make sense to me. I sincerely hope that I never stop delving deeper and trying to truly understand. I also sincerely hope that I never close my mind on any subject. Even now, I could be persuaded to change my mind. So to those who have been the target of my arguments: Guys, I’m listening to your side; I really am. I just haven’t heard anything to convince me. If I do, then I’ll have no choice but to agree with you. But if there’s any doubt in my mind over the rightness of a view that seems oppressive to some, I will not accept that view. This seems only fair.

I’m sorry if this post seems antagonistic. That wasn’t my intention. I think I should stop writing now before I get angry. That won’t be beneficial to anyone.

Anyway, I’m thankful that even if my friends and I don’t agree and perhaps never will, they love me anyway.

 

5 Responses to “Differences of Opinion”

  1. LOL Says:

    Would it be bad for you at this point if I asked what your argument was about? I’m always interested in theological debates, even if I rarely enjoy participating.

  2. Mostly gender roles, with some digression into Calvinism. Fun stuff… well, sort of… 😛

    • LOL Says:

      How do you get into a heated debate about gender roles? That’s always seemed like a fairly safe subject to me… I suppose I’ve just never talked about it to anyone with a strong opinion on it that’s contrary to my own. I gather you were taking the “women should not be confined to traditional roles” side? I have to admit, I don’t know much about Calvinism, so I don’t see how that would tie in.

      Intensely fun, I know. 😛

      • Yes, that was the side I was taking. 🙂 It wasn’t especially heated; I guess I was just writing from the viewpoint of being frustrated with being the only person arguing this side and being unable to get my points across.

        Calvinism = “God has predestined every tiny detail of life, including making all sorts of bad things happen and predestining people to hell.” You can probably see why I have a problem with that. 😛


Leave a Reply

