Out of the Box

Getting creative with Christianity, crafting, cooking, copious usage of alliteration, and the rest of my life

A Mixed Bag July 6, 2010

Filed under: Adventures in Toronto — Grace @ 3:13 pm

It’s been quite a while – again. This time it’s not entirely my fault. Our house had no internet for a while, and I only recently discovered that there’s another wireless network available. Now I don’t have to go to the main building every time I want to use the Internet, which is a definite improvement.

Well, life has been… interesting. A positive thing: Saturday afternoon I went with Kemi to Chinatown and bought some groceries. I discovered that the Lucky Moose supermarket (don’t ask) has very delicious grapes and oranges. Also, it has Pocky. If you have not experienced the chocolatey goodness of Pocky, let me know and I will find some for you.

Another positive thing: Monday evening Pastor Shawn took Gloria, Anna and me to an event that included foods from around the world (mmm, flan) and a concert. A not-so-positive thing: my dad sent a strongly worded email to NAMB about the fact that after three weeks here I haven’t done a thing. Anyway, instead of going to the concert, I met with Pastor Shawn and two men in charge of the organization and we discussed things. We brainstormed various things that I could do. To sum it up, there are at least two people who could use help with English (although if that’s the case, I don’t know why nothing has happened yet), Pastor Shawn is going to ask leaders of other church plants if they need help with anything, and there might be some form of outreach in the future.

But honestly, it looks like a lose-lose situation. I’ve got less than four weeks left, and judging by how things have gone so far, I don’t have much hope that I’ll actually end up with something to do. At this point, my best bet is probably to quickly learn some more Chinese and walk around inviting Chinese people to the church I’m with, but I’ll have little to say other than “There might be something ESL-ish available, but only for a few weeks.” If it’s ESL they’re looking for, I’d be better off referring them to another Chinese church here that I know of, but I doubt that would go over too well.

On the other hand, if I go home, what happens? The chances of being able to do something productive with my summer are still pretty slim. Is there a right thing to do in this situation?

Oh well. Something might turn up this week, so I guess it’s a little soon to worry.

Who am I kidding? It’s been over three weeks. The time for worrying arrived long ago…

Well, whatever happens, I’ll survive.

 

6 Responses to “A Mixed Bag”

  1. Hannah Says:

    Grace 😦 You know I love chocolate so you’ll have to bring me back some of that chocolately heaven… πŸ™‚
    LUV YOU AS ALWAYS,
    Hannah

  2. Sarah Says:

    Hi Grace,

    I’m SO disappointed your experience isn’t going well. Disappointed and ticked off. I sure hope things turn around for you. Please call (get my # from your Dad) or email me. When I went to Egypt, they didn’t let me teach for over a month, so I was a tourist with nothing to do. Make the most of it – whatever “it” is. πŸ™‚

    Aunty Sarah

  3. LOL Says:

    Good Luck!

    My advice – don’t worry about it too much. I know you didn’t raise all that money to go on a mission trip so that you could sit around not doing missions, but you know that wasn’t for lack of trying. Look on the bright side. You’re in a foreign country having interesting foreign country experiences. At this point in your life (in my opinion) that counts as productiveness, even if its only effect is to make you a more well-rounded and experienced person. If you came home now, what would you do? Volunteer at the library? That’s not as fun as it sounds.

    So try to enjoy yourself. Do what missions you can, keep asking for more opportunities, and keep having those interesting experiences. Just don’t sit around worrying. All that would serve to do is stop you from having fun, and fun is what you should be having.

    But anyway, that’s just my opinion. I sincerely hope that they can find something for you to do that will be completely satisfactory.

  4. fantanna Says:

    we have internet now…yay! anyways, i am sorry i haven’t been more of an encouragement to you…you see, you and i are in the same boat. both expecting to come here and be super productive, and ending up with a lot of empty time on our hands. but i’ve been thinking and talking to a friend back home and, you know what? even if we don’t see it now…we ARE here for a reason, and i’ve just recently been encouraged about that. so, head up, soldier:) we have work to do, it’s just not as obvious as we would have hoped. i’ll try not to be so depressed and be more of an encouragement to you too. sorry i haven’t been the greatest friend and partner. i’ll do better:)

  5. El'endia Starman Says:

    Well…I wish there was something I could do. I agree with Fantanna in that there is a reason (whatever it may be) you went up there, and I hope (and pray) that you will get a mission to do whilst up there.


Leave a Reply

