Out of the Box

Getting creative with Christianity, crafting, cooking, copious usage of alliteration, and the rest of my life

Well… July 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grace @ 11:30 am

I’m going home early. My mom died.

It’s sort of a strange situation, because she was in a car accident in 1999 and ended up with pretty severe brain damage, so she’s been in what the doctors call a vegetative or nonresponsive state ever since. That basically means that she lay in bed mostly unconscious and couldn’t talk to us, and we’re not sure if she could understand what we were saying. It was like a coma. So even though she technically died recently, she sort of died ten and a half years ago. That being the case, I’m not sure exactly what to feel.

Anyway, if all goes according to plan, I’ll be flying home Tuesday. The funeral will be on Wednesday. And then I’ll try to stay sane until school starts. Wish me luck.

 

4 Responses to “Well…”

  1. Chris Lane Says:

    Grace,

    I’m sorry to hear about this. Your small group leaders – and many others from the Summit – are praying for you. I’ll just leave you with one verse that a student at camp has been harping on lately.

    “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” – James 1: 2-4

    Even if you’re not sure how to respond to this event, I know that there’s some hurt inside. It is often difficult to understand how and where pain and loss line up with the Gospel and God’s immense love. Just understand this – the pains and troubles of your life are wrinkles that are necessary to make you whole. The Lord is making a great work in you through all that you undergo. Take pride in that – find solace in the great plan the your God has set for your life. He is maturing you into a great young woman! We are all so proud of you for your strength and accomplishments.

    We love you, Grace, and we are praying for you.

    – Chris

  2. LOL Says:

    I was very sorry to hear this. I don’t really know what to feel either, since I barely remember your mom. I hope you’re okay, and you know I’ll be around if you need me.

  3. hannah Says:

    Grace,
    You Know I’m always here for you!! If you need anything or just want to talk I’m here!! Even at 1:30am in the morning!
    I LOVE YOU AND MISS YOU…
    Hanner

  4. El'endia Starman Says:

    [sigh]
    Man…that sucks. I feel so sorry for you, having the time of your life and then plunged into the pit. I would say this is one of the times where you have to remember that God is the Master Author…there’s a reason behind this plot twist (so to speak). I wish I could help more, but it looks like my only meaningful contribution will be keeping you sane… 😛

    Also, I second everything Chris Lane said. Everything.

    You *are* loved, Grace. Always remember that. 🙂


Leave a Reply

