Out of the Box

Getting creative with Christianity, crafting, cooking, copious usage of alliteration, and the rest of my life

Vegging out July 28, 2010

Filed under: Lifestyle — Grace @ 4:41 pm

So… I’m seriously considering becoming a vegetarian. (And all the people who just saw me eating fried chicken at the funeral say: “Huh?!?” I didn’t really want to, but I wanted to answer a lot of questions even less.)

Anyway, the more I think about it, the more I realize that I have no way to justify killing something so I can have a few moments of gustatory pleasure. Especially when I have other options.

Actually, if I’m going to take morality into account, I should probably become vegan because of the cruelty that dairy animals and egg-laying chickens no doubt face, but then I wouldn’t be able to eat anything. *sigh* What to do, what to do…? I guess I probably won’t go that far, although I may change my mind. Well, maybe someday I’ll get some chickens and goats and the problem will be solved. 🙂

To clarify, I don’t think it’s inherently wrong to kill an animal – think of the Native Americans from way-back-when who didn’t have much else to make tools and clothing out of. And I’m pretty sure they didn’t have soybeans either. 😛 But the thing is, I actually have a choice.

There’s no question that becoming a vegetarian would make life somewhat inconvenient, but dying needlessly makes animals’ lives pretty inconvenient too. But where do you draw the line? Is it okay to eat it if you didn’t buy it? It’s too late by then anyway. And what if you’re in some foreign country where you’ll become anemic or something if you don’t? This is a multifaceted issue. Or maybe I’m just making things too complicated. Anyway, I think I’ll abstain as much as possible and continue to think about this.

Oy vey. How in the world did my extremely conservative family wind up with “liberal wacko” me? 😛

 

6 Responses to “Vegging out”

  1. Alan Davy Says:

    I’m not sure it has to be a moral issue. After all, as Benjamin Franklin observed, if fish can eat each other, why can’t we eat fish? (Franklin was a vegetarian for a while, but changed his mind.)

    But vegetarianism is definitely not a “wacko” idea. It’s probably healthier for you than the typical American diet, and there are all sorts of wonderful meals you can eat without having any meat. Sweet potatoes! Lima beans! Raisin bran! Waffles! PBJs! CHOCOLATE! The list just goes on an on!

    • The thing is, fish might not be lucky enough to have access to vegetarian options like chocolate. 😉 Although if a fish ever starts thinking about morality, I think I want to meet it (but not meat it) – oh my goodness, I think I should stop writing before I come up with still more awful puns.

  2. Alan Davy Says:

    Oops! I mean, “the list goes on AND on!”

  3. El'endia Starman Says:

    Moral issues aside, I read an article somewhere (in print) that detailed the adventure of two men who ate only meat for a month. They found out early on that meat and fat have to be at an optimal ratio for it to work, but it’s actually very healthy. One of them even had gingivitis go away during the trial and return afterwards!

    Moral issues included, well…things get murky. There is that Benjamin Franklin quote…and native groups regularly eat animals (and use everything) and there’s the whole food chain. However, this is all based on the need for sustenance, so your opinion in that area is certainly valid. (‘course, I eat meat for sustenance… :P)

    One final thing, if there’s an Earth Fare in the area, I strongly suggest you go there for your veggie needs. Everything there is ‘organic’ (to use the environmental term). My mom and my brother go there often due to their gluten allergy. Do be prepared to eat a lot more as fruits and vegetables don’t compactify nutrients like meat does.

    Grace, that pun was punbelievable. >.<

    • Bozo Says:

      Grace, you really need to steak out some boundaries with these puns. (Sorry, LOL is in the shower and I needed something to do…)

      • Bozo Says:

        Sorry, apparently I don’t know how to reply to the right post. Also, I meant for the puns, not with. x_x


Leave a Reply

