Out of the Box

Getting creative with Christianity, crafting, cooking, copious usage of alliteration, and the rest of my life

Home again, home again August 1, 2010

Filed under: Adventures at Home,Adventures in Toronto — Grace @ 11:38 pm

This is belated, since I got home on Tuesday. But oh well.

This seems to have been the summer of transportation issues. First the subway incidents, and then my plane ticket sends me to the wrong gate (or, more likely, the gate changed and I should have been watching the TV screen, but hey, I’m new to this) and I finally realize what’s happening and get to the right gate five minutes before the plane is supposed to leave. It was a really close call. But it all worked out.

As the plane got close to Raleigh and started descending, I was struck by the contrast. The view of Toronto from the plane had been almost all buildings (and Lake Ontario). The view of Raleigh from the plane had so many trees. It looked much more like home. 😛

That was Tuesday afternoon. Visitation Tuesday night. Funeral Wednesday afternoon. After that, not much.

I have nothing else to write that won’t depress me and you.

To come eventually: Maybe some thoughts on camp. Maybe some thoughts on the summer in general. Maybe just some depressed rambling after all, as if I can’t do enough of that inside my head.

 

3 Responses to “Home again, home again”

  1. LOL Says:

    Depressed rambling is no good. We must hang out this week and attempt to alleviate this no-goodness. Perhaps we could have one of those theological discussions we were planning? Then again… that might be a bad idea. How about some baking experiments? Or some ice cream? Call me. Or I’ll call you. Or… or… OR ELSE!

    Goshdarnit I’m exhausted…

  2. El'endia Starman Says:

    If only I lived closer, I could fully support LOL in her venture… 😛

    Anyway, I know this is late, but this brings to mind a certain line from a certain song (Trading My Sorrows): “For the sorrow lasts for the night // but joy comes in the morning.”


Leave a Reply

