Out of the Box

Getting creative with Christianity, crafting, cooking, copious usage of alliteration, and the rest of my life

Great, another crappy situation August 7, 2010

Filed under: Adventures at Home — Grace @ 1:00 pm

So being home hasn’t been the relaxing time I wish it could be. I’m trying to work on my summer service project, which I have to complete if I want to be able to go back to school, and it’s not going well. As if it wasn’t hard enough motivating myself to do the work, my youngest sister has decided to try to sabotage me. She doesn’t want me to go back to school and is doing her best to make sure I can’t.

So I thought, “Hey, if my sister keeps interrupting me during the day, I’ll just stay up late and work when she won’t bother me.” Well, so much for that theory. It’s after 3 AM and she’s knocking on my door and won’t go away.

So what do I do? I can A) let her sleep up here with me, like she wants, which would make my dad mad at her, B) try to reason with her and get her to go downstairs, which I tried – it didn’t work, C) ignore her, which I’m currently trying to do and which makes me feel like a jerk, D) well, you tell me.

Update: I wrote this at about 3 last night, but didn’t get to post it, because someone turned off our internet router. I thought it was my dad, so I didn’t go turn it back on. Just now I found out that it wasn’t my dad after all. Turns out it was my sister. I lost hours that I could have used to work because I had no internet to do my research.

At school this doesn’t happen. At school no one repeatedly keeps bugging me when they know I have important work to do. Hey, while we’re on this subject, at school I don’t have to listen to constant fighting; at school the people in charge aren’t constantly doing their best to inflict emotional damage on everyone within reach; at school I’m more likely to be able to do something if there’s an unpleasant situation. Of course, at school I’m generally overworked and sleep-deprived, but it’s worth it, both for the superior education I’ll get there, the opportunities I wouldn’t have anywhere else… and the escape.

Of course, it’s pretty pointless for me to long for school when it’s looking more and more possible that I’ll get kicked out for not completing my summer work. Thanks, sis. (And thanks, things-that-come-up-whenever-I-really-need-to-work. And thanks, laziness. And thanks, all-possible-forms-of-exhaustion-combined.)

…No. There’s no way I’m going to let anyone take away one of the best things that’s ever happened to me. I’ll get this done.

Somehow…

 

6 Responses to “Great, another crappy situation”

  1. LOL Says:

    Want to come stay at my house? I’m sure my parents wouldn’t mind, and there will definitely be little arguing and much quiet. I understand the feeling you’re getting. It’s the “I really need to move out and be on my own” feeling. Mine is slightly different, and for slightly different reasons, but it’s pretty much one of the main reasons why I’m going to college this year and not the next.

    Seriously, if you need some time away from Caroline, let me know.

  2. LOL Says:

    Absolutely. I’m moving out on Thursday, but seriously, any time before then you need some peace and quiet, you’re welcome here.

  3. El'endia Starman Says:

    [thumbs up] Optimism is good! 😀

    Does your dad know about this? Maybe he can control her somehow… 😛

    Or you could just get rope and bind her to her bed.


Leave a Reply

