Out of the Box

Getting creative with Christianity, crafting, cooking, copious usage of alliteration, and the rest of my life

Schedules August 17, 2010

Filed under: Adventures at School — Grace @ 8:50 pm

I just did something very stupid.

So. Since I love foreign languages, I signed up for two this year: Introductory French and Intermediate Chinese. When I got my schedule, I was very disappointed to find that I had gotten the Chinese class, but not French. I discovered that the two classes meet at the same time. (Yes, that would explain it. They teach us well here. :P)

I thought I could solve that problem by dropping to Intro Chinese instead, since I only speak a little Chinese and was feeling less confident after a summer with little practice than I had been during last year’s Chinese seminar. Then I went to Intermediate Chinese class today – and it was fine. I understood most of what was going on and loved the challenge.

However, that left me in a tricky situation. I already knew that I couldn’t take both Intermediate Chinese and Intro French. I also had come to realize that I liked my Chinese class and dropping down a level would probably bore me to tears. But I still wanted to take French. So there was only one thing to do…

I requested Intermediate French.

I do not speak French.

I still don’t know whether I’ll get the class, but if I do, it’s certainly going to be interesting.

But hey, think of it this way – it’s like doing a language immersion program, except I don’t have to go to a foreign country. That’s a good thing, right?

I hope so.

I also hope, insane as it may be, that I get this class.

So maybe this was a stupid thing to do – but still, somehow, I feel like I won’t regret it. πŸ˜€

 

9 Responses to “Schedules”

  1. LOL Says:

    You’ll do fine. The vocabulary might throw you, but you’ve studied enough foreign languages to be able to catch on pretty quickly.

    On a somewhat related note, I got a two pound bag of candy yesterday for being the freshman in the College of Textiles to speak the most foreign languages. I missed having you there to beat me. πŸ˜₯

  2. Congratulations! πŸ˜€ Are you sure I would have beaten you? You have Japanese, Latin, and Spanish (to some extent), right?

    GAHHH. Your college needs a linguistics major. πŸ˜›

    • LOL Says:

      This college does need a linguistics major! It would be great!

      I claimed Russian, Japanese, Latin, Spanish, and English. Didn’t mention Quenya, but I figured that wouldn’t count anyway. You’ve got all but the Russian, right? And then you add the Chinese and French…

      • I have English, Spanish, Japanese, Chinese, and Irish. I’ve never taken a Latin course and I speak no French other than “hello,” “thank you,” etc., which was most of the point of this post. πŸ˜› I can also say “May I pet your camel?” in Hebrew, but I don’t think that counts for anything, useful as it may be.

      • LOL Says:

        You speak all of your languages better than I speak mine, though. And I meant add French to the languages you WILL speak, whenever you choose the right college to go to. πŸ˜‰

  3. LOL's DAD Says:

    Laissez les bontemps rouler!

  4. El'endia Starman Says:

    Hopefully, by the end of the year you’ll be able to add French, ASL, and maybe Mando’a to that list. So then you’d know English, Spanish, Japanese, Chinese, Irish, French, ASL, and maybe Mando’a! πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

    ………jeepers, I need to learn more programming languages so I can stay ahead of you! πŸ˜›

    Bold testing, please ignore… πŸ˜› :
    *bold*
    [b]bold[/b]
    bold


Leave a Reply

