Out of the Box

Getting creative with Christianity, crafting, cooking, copious usage of alliteration, and the rest of my life

First post! June 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Grace @ 3:13 am

Wow, my first blog post. I feel like there should be dramatic music in the background or something. Oh well, you can just imagine it.

So to sum things up, I’m leaving for Canada in less than two weeks. NAMB is sending me to Toronto for the summer, where I’ll be teaching ESL to Chinese people. (Yes, in Canada. Yes, it’s random. But hey, it’s going to be awesome!) I was thrilled when I found out about this a few months ago, but there was a catch: a lot of money to pay that I hadn’t known about before. So I decided to start having bake sales as fundraisers. Never mind that I’ve never before baked anything that didn’t come out of a box.

It’s gone well so far, everyone says my desserts are delicious (especially for a newbie!) and in fact, I’m expecting another customer at 11:30. This should help a lot if things keep going as they are. I may have to post a few recipes in the future.

Oh – my partner for this summer is Anna Russell, who introduced me to the wonderful world of WordPress. (You can find her blog here!) She seems awesome. She’s already in Canada, actually, so I’m going to rely heavily on her superior wisdom once I’m there.

Well, sorry for my rambling. I’ll get better at this, I promise! And that’s all, folks.

 

7 Responses to “First post!”

  1. El'endia Starman Says:

    Two weeks? I thought you were leaving July 14, not June 14…? 😛

    On an unrelated note, I will definitely be reading about your adventures in Canada… 😀

  2. What a wonderful opportunity! You’ll have the time of your life…very proud of you (and your dad, for letting you go).

  3. Tina Hardee Says:

    I am so proud of you Grace. You are a light in this world. You are going to bless those people that you help this summer. Have fun and take some pics. ❤

  4. Hannah Says:

    Oh Gracie,
    I am going to miss you sooooo much this summer!! 😦 but I must tell you and the rest of the world how proud of you I am!! You have officially seen the light 😉 Keep me updated girlie!
    I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!
    Hannah


Leave a comment